Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Attempt to Commit Murder Charges Filed in Stuart Shooting

October 22, 2019

STUART, Iowa -- The Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) has filed two (2) counts of Attempt to Commit Murder on A Peace Officer (Class B felony) against Randall Comly. The charges stem from the preliminary complaint alleging that Mr. Comly fired rounds at Guthrie County Deputy Kent Gries and Stuart Police Officer Tyler DeFrancisco, each of which were inside the apartment at 615 SW 7th Street, in Stuart on October 17.

During the exchange of gunfire inside the apartment, Deputy Jim Mink and Deputy Steven Henry were securing the perimeter of the property outside of the apartment, however, both deputies were stuck by gunfire that exited from inside the apartment. Preliminary investigation suggests the gunfire that struck Deputy Mink and Deputy Henry may have been fired by law enforcement officers inside the apartment as they returned fire on Randall Comly. Ballistic testing of the rounds that stuck the officers is pending. The investigation into exactly who fired the rounds is part of the ongoing investigation and it may take several weeks to have a definitive answer.

Complaint and Affidavit #1
Complaint and Affidavit #2

Note: A criminal charge is merely an accusation and a defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty.


Media Contact:
Special Agent in Charge Adam DeCamp
Phone:  515.250.4912



The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state.  It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.