Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Deputies and Occupant Shot When Authorities Attempt to Serve Arrest Warrant in Stuart

October 18, 2019

STUART, Iowa -- On October 17, 2019, at approximately 10:40 p.m., three Guthrie County Sheriff’s Deputies and a Stuart Police Officer attempted to serve an arrest warrant at 615 SW 7th Street, Apartment #1, in Stuart.

At 10:43 p.m., one of the officers reported shots had been fired. Two deputies and an occupant of the apartment were struck by gunfire.

Law enforcement officers with local, county, and state agencies responded and were able to secure the scene without further incident. Officers negotiated with one of the occupants of the apartment, getting him to leave the apartment and surrender.

The three deputies and an occupant of the apartment were transported to Des Moines area hospitals with non-life threatening injuries; all are in stable condition.

The DCI is lead agency for investigation into this shooting.

The names of the officers involved will be released at a later time.


Media Contact:
Special Agent in Charge Adam DeCamp
Phone:  515.250.4912



The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state.  It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.