Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Governor's Lifesaving Award - Outstanding Service

Collage photo of Sullivan Brothers, US Flag, and Sullivan Brothers' Award and Governor's Life Saving Awards, Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 11 a.m. in the Capitol Rotunda.

Outstanding Service Awards are presented to persons who have performed a courageous act in an attempt to save an individual who was in danger of losing his or her life, or to individuals who unselfishly rendered service in a time of emergency. This year's award ceremony will be combined - Sullivan Brothers' Awards and Governor's Lifesaving Awards, and will be hold on Tuesday, December 10, 2019 at 11 a.m. in the Capitol Rotunda. 
Eligibility For Outstanding Service Awards:
A.    Incident must have occurred within a five year period prior to receipt of the nomination. All nominations must be received by June 15th of the current year.
B.    A resident or non-resident of Iowa who saves the life or performed outstanding service to one or a group of residents or individuals in Iowa.  – OR – The acts of lifesaving.
       were rendered to an immediate family member.
C.    Nominee(s) should not be professionally trained in lifesaving techniques. Examples include: firemen, law enforcement officers, doctors, nurses, lifeguards, water safety instructors, and first aid instructors (unless they are retired from those positions).
D.    Must have occurred within Iowa.
Award Nominations:
A.    May be made by any person, except the nominee.
B.    Requires completion of the Governor’s Lifesaving Award Nomination Form, or by requesting it in writing, to Governor’s Lifesaving Committee, 215 E. 7th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319.

The nomination form should include:
1.    Detailed statement of the deed or act performed
2.    Name, address, and age of nominee
3.    Name, address, and age of individual(s) whose life was saved, if applicable
4.    Date and place where act was performed
5.    Names and addresses of witnesses
6.    A copy of a newspaper account of the incident, if available.

A thorough investigation and report will be made by members of the Iowa State Patrol, a division of the Iowa Department of Public Safety, as a representative of the Governor. Reports of the investigation will be presented to a committee for evaluation. The nominator(s) will be notified of the final decision, regardless of outcome. An invitation to the awards ceremony will be extended to those nominees chosen as award recipients, the person(s) saved, the investigating officer, and the nominee’s senator and representative.

Additional details regarding the formal ceremony will be provided to award recipients once they are available. Awards may be presented by the Governor or a Governor's representative, or mailed as circumstances permit.