Official State of Iowa Website Here is how you know

Arson and Explosives - Investigations

Special agent in bomb suit with portable xray machine and suspicious package under a vehicle.

The primary responsibility of the Arson and Explosives Bureau is to assist local fire, police, and sheriff departments with investigations of fire scenes to determine if a crime has been committed and bring the case to a successful resolution.  There are nine Special Agents and one Special Agent in Charge assigned to this bureau.

To request an agent or investigation, please contact Des Moines State Radio at 515.323.4360 and ask for the State Fire Marshal Duty Officer. 

The Arson Hotline is offered for citizens to anonymously provide information that may be helpful in the resolution of suspected arson cases.  The Arson Hotline number is 800.532.1459.

After the Fire! Returning to Normal:  FEMA guide for those who've survived a home fire

Additionally, the Bureau has statewide responsibility for the investigation of bombings and other explosive devices.  There are currently ten certified bomb technicians on staff who respond to explosive related incidents,and  suspected devices or packages, to investigate and render the item(s) safe.  The Bureau will collect unwanted or damaged ammunition, old explosives, and other explosive items or components for safe disposal.  To report an explosive related incident or suspicious package, please contact Des Moines State Radio at 515.323.4360 and ask for the State Fire Marshal Duty Officer.

For non-emergency contact: To locate the special agent assigned to your area, please view our territory map or refer to the list below.  There are four zones across the state. 

Form 100A

Special Agent in Charge

The Arson & Explosives Bureau is supervised by Special Agent in Charge Ron Humphrey.

Zone 1

Zone 1 includes the following counties:  Adair, Appanoose, Boone, Clarke, Dallas, Decatur, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Polk, Ringgold, Story, Union, Warren, Wayne, and Webster. 

Zone 1 is covered by Special Agents Dave Linkletter and Mike Lillebo.

Zone 2

Zone 2 includes the following counties:  Adams, Audubon, Buena Vista, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Emmet, Fremont, Harrison, Ida, Lyon, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O’Brien, Osceola, Page, Taylor, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Sioux, and Woodbury. 

Zone 2 is covered by Special Agents Andrew Giere and Wayne Brosam. 

Zone 3

Zone 3 includes the following counties:  Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, Hancock, Hardin, Howard, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright. 

Zone 3 is covered by Special Agent Ross Dillavou

Zone 4

Zone 4 includes the following counties: Benton, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Mahaska, Muscatine, Scott, Tama, Van Buren, Wapello, and Washington. 

Zone 4 is covered by Special Agents Lucas Ossman, Luke Taeger, and Justin Wade.