Commercial Explosive Licensing Programs

Billboard image reading Important Changes See Below for Details on Administrative Rule Changes

Iowa 661 Administrative Rules Chapter 235 changes adopted and filed February 17, 2021 (Effective:  April 1, 2021)

The state of Iowa requires licensing for all commercial explosive contractors and blasters as defined in Iowa Code 101A and Administrative Rules Chapter 235.  A company engaged in the manufacture, importation, distribution, sale or commercial use of explosives and their employees must be licensed as commercial explosive contractors and blasters.

Explosive Material User Permit (for County Sheriff/Chief of Police use only) PDF Form

Licensing program requirement highlights:

  • All contractors who intend to work in Iowa are required to obtain a commercial explosive contractor license.  
  • A national criminal history background check is required on all responsible persons and employee possessors who are not licensed as commercial explosive blasters.
  • Contractors must license at least one commercial explosive blaster.
  • All blasters who intend to work in Iowa are required to obtain a commercial explosive blaster license under a licensed contractor.  They must provide a copy of their current qualifying certification as specified in the matrix below.  
  • All blasters renewing a license in Iowa are required to provide proof of continuing education as specified in the matrix below.

Home Base Iowa Act - Connecting Veterans to Careers and Resources

Fee Structure for Contractor License
  • $60 license fee (prorated monthly)
  • $35 criminal history background check for each listed responsible person and employee possessor
Fee Structure for Blaster License
Application Forms

Application Packets:

 

Individual Forms:

Blaster Qualifying Certification Matrix
 
Blaster Endorsement Qualifying Certification Option(s)
Commercial Explosive Blaster (new license applicant)

Satisfactory completion of training in the use and handling of explosives by the employer or reputable third party knowledgeable about the storage, handling, and use of explosives [or]

Completed on-the-job training affidavit documenting 640 hours or more of experience provided by the blaster's employer [or]

Copy of a current blaster license issued by another state with comparable licensing requirements [or]

Satisfactory completion of an applicable training or testing program that has been approved by the state fire marshal prior to application

Commercial Explosive Blaster (renewal license applicant)

Completed continuing education from a nationally recognized institution for professional explosives storage, handling, and use [or]

Copy of a current blaster license issued by another state with comparable licensing requirements [or]

Satisfactory completion of an applicable training or testing program that has been approved by the state fire marshal prior to application

Payments can be made online by debit/credit card or eCheck/ACH or by mailing a check or money order payable to the Iowa State Fire Marshal Division and mailed to Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Attention: SFM Licensing Administration, 215 E 7th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319.