
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

1. For current card and licensee holders‐How to claim existing account? 

a. To “claim” your existing profile, click on this 

link: https://iowadps.imagetrendlicense.com/lms/public/portal#/forgot/username and 

enter the licensee’s Date of Birth, Last Name and Social Security Number. IMPORTANT 

NOTE: Existing ID card holders and Licensees do not currently have an email address as 

part of their profile, the site will require you to enter a valid, unique email address. 

 

2. Do I need a license to operate private investigative, private security or bail enforcement 

business in Iowa?  

a. Yes, a person shall not operate a bail enforcement business, private investigative 

business, or private security business, or otherwise employ person in the operation of 

such a business located within this state unless the person is licensed by the 

commissioner in accordance with this chapter. Persons exempt from licensing are found 

in Iowa Code Chapter 80A.2. with further explanation in 661 Iowa Administrative Code 

2.3(80A).  

 

3. Where and how can I obtain information on becoming a private investigative, private security or 

bail enforcement agent? 

a. Go to the Iowa Department of Public Safety’s website, under Administrative Services 

click on Private Investigative/Private Security/Bail Enforcement and read over the 

Checklist for Application and then create an account on the public portal. 

 

4. What requirements must I meet to qualify for a private investigative, private security or bail 

enforcement license?  

a. License requirements can be found in 661 Iowa Administrative Code 2.5(80A) and Iowa 

Code 80A.4.  

 

5. Do employees of licensed agencies also need to be licensed?  

a. Each person employed by and engaged in the business of a licensed bail enforcement, 

private investigative or private security agency must obtain an employee ID card from 

the department and must meet the standards established in 661 Iowa Administrative 

Code 2.5(80A).  

 

6. 5. Are there any education or experience requirements to become licensed? 

a.  No; however if you have obtained a license as a Private Investigator you and your 

employees are required to obtain 12 hours of continuing education in the two years 

prior to renewal of the license.  

 

7. 6. Do I need to be an Iowa resident to obtain a private investigative, private security or bail 

enforcement license?  

a. No 

 



8. Do I need to take an examination to get a private investigative, private security or bail 

enforcement license?  

a. No  

 

9. Where may I obtain fingerprints?  

a. Most law enforcement agencies will roll finger prints. Call ahead for an appointment. 

You may expect to pay a processing fee. Or, fill out a form on the public portal to 

request more fingerprint cards. 

10. What are the fees for obtaining a private investigative, private security or bail enforcement 

license? 

a. A two year license is $100.00 per license type, an ID card is $10.00 per card type and the 

fingerprint background check is $30.00.  

 

11. I am a sworn Iowa law enforcement officer. Can I be licensed as a private investigative, private 

security or bail enforcement agency? 

a.  No. Refer to: Iowa Code 80A.2 Persons Exempt and 661 Iowa Administrative Code 2.5 

(2) License Requirements.  

 

12. Can I use my ID card to work for more than one licensed agency?  

a. No. your ID card is issued under the name of a particular agency. Therefore, it is only 

valid while working for the agency that is named on the card.  

 

13. Can I work for more than one licensed agency at the same time?  

a. Yes. The Iowa Code and the Iowa Administrative Code do not prohibit this; however, 

some agencies do have rules that address working for more than one licensed agency. 

You must obtain an ID card from each agency from whom you are employed.  

 

14.  How do I find out if someone is licensed as a private investigative, private security or bail 

enforcement agency?  

a. Go to https://iowadps.imagetrendlicense.com/lms/public/portal#/lookup  

 

15. What is the procedure if I want to register a complaint against someone who is a licensed 

agency?  

a. All complaints must be submitted in writing to the  

Iowa Department of Public Safety, Program Services Bureau 

215 E 7th Street 

Des Moines, IA 50319.  

State the nature of the complaint, the party against whom the complaint is filed, and 

information so that we can contact you.  

 

16. May I obtain a license thru reciprocity? 

a.  A temporary permit to conduct business in Iowa may be issued to a private investigator 

or private security agency licensed in another state provided that the requirements and 

qualifications in the licensing state are similar to those in Iowa and that the licensing 

https://iowadps.imagetrendlicense.com/lms/public/portal#/lookup


state allows similar privileges by receipt. A temporary permit may be issued for a period 

not to exceed 90 days and is not renewable. Requirements for obtaining a temporary 

permit through reciprocity may be found at: Iowa Code 80A.18 Reciprocity and 661 Iowa 

Administrative Code 2.23(2) Requirements. It should be noted that if a license is needed, 

you may obtain a two year license for the same cost and standards as for a 90 day 

reciprocity license 

 

 

 


