Iowa Peace Officer Memorial

Link to POM photo and 2021 ceremony date

2021 Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony

We invite you to join us for the 2021 Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony when State of Iowa leadership, law enforcement partners and families will honor and pay tribute to fallen peace officers who gave the ultimate sacrifice while serving. We stand steadfast in remembering the brave men and women of law enforcement who died in the line of duty protecting Iowans and their communities.


SPECIAL GUESTS: Governor Reynolds, Lt. Governor Adam Gregg, DPS Commissioner Stephan Bayens

Friday, May 7, 2021

10:00 a.m.

Peace Officer Memorial Site

Grounds East of Oran Pape State Office Building

215 East 7th Street, Des Moines, Iowa

(Rain Location State Capitol - 1st Floor Rotunda)


As we prepare for the upcoming ceremony, please watch this special video tribute made in collaboration with many law enforcement partners across our state.



The Peace Officer Memorial is fronted by a stone which explains the artist's conception of the elements of the memorial. The stone reads: 


The three outer forms represent the three levels of law enforcement in Iowa. 

The equal spacing represents the equal sharing of responsibility.  

The circles represent the cooperation and fraternity between agencies and departments. 
The three gray paths to the center represent the agencies and departments uniting to serve, sacrifice, and mourn. 

The center pinnacle represents the service, dedication, and sacrifice shared by each peace officer.  

The top of each outer form represents the aim of each peace officer with the goal being just short of the ultimate act of giving one's life, which is represented by the top of the center pinnacle.

- Designed by C. Richard Webb


Wreath at the Iowa Peace Officer Memorial




The memorial stone also lists the committee members who planned and organized the development and dedication of the memorial. Those members include: the Honorable Terry E. Branstad, Governor of Iowa, the Honorable Lee Holt, State Senator, Adrian D. Anderson, Raymond K. Baker, Glenn F. Brockett, Cindy Hill-Collier, George S. Mills, Gene W. Shepard, and Connie A. White. 

Supplementing the Iowa Peace Officer Memorial are two plaques which are on display at the Iowa Department of Public Safety in the Oran Pape Office Building located at 215 East 7th Street, Des Moines, Iowa. One plaque recognizes each Iowa peace officer who has died in the line of duty, and the other recognizes Iowans who have died while engaged in law enforcement or closely-related functions, but who were not peace officers. 






Link to Honor Guard marching into ceremony


Nominations may be made by an Iowa law enforcement agency. Only officers whose deaths occur in a line-of-duty incident will be considered. 

Nominations must be made in writing and should include:    

1. Photograph of the victim officer (if a photo is not available, please submit the completed form).

2. Death certificate and/or coroner's report.

3. Initial police/incident report.

4. Copy of victim officer's sworn officer certificate.

5. Copies of news articles regarding of the incident/death.

All nominations must be submitted on this form provided on this site. CLICK HERE FOR NOMINATION FORM.

Please submit nominations to:

Attention: Sergeant Alex Dinkla
Public Information Officer
Iowa Department of Public Safety
Office of the Commissioner
E-Mail: Peace Officer Memorial
Phone: 515.725.6189