Back to top

Bureau Information

The primary responsibilities of the Arson and Explosives Bureau are to assist local fire, police, and sheriff departments with investigations of fire scenes, and respond to explosive related incidents. There are ten Special Agents and one Special Agent in Charge assigned to this Bureau.

To request an agent or investigation, please contact Des Moines State Radio at 515.323.4360 and ask for the State Fire Marshal Duty Officer. 

The Arson Hotline is offered for citizens to anonymously provide information that may be helpful in the resolution of suspected arson cases. The Arson Hotline number is 800.532.1459.

After the Fire! Returning to Normal:  FEMA guide for those who've survived a home fire

The Bureau has statewide responsibility for the investigation of bombings and other explosive devices.  There are currently 11 certified bomb technicians on staff who respond to explosive related incidents and suspected devices or packages to investigate and render the item(s) safe. The Bureau will collect unwanted or damaged ammunition, old explosives, and other explosive items or components for safe disposal. To report an explosive related incident or suspicious package, please contact Des Moines State Radio at 515.323.4360 and ask for the State Fire Marshal Duty Officer.

Non-emergency contact: To locate the Special agent Assigned to your area, please refer to the list below.  

Back to top

To Request an Arson/Fire Report

See Iowa Code section 100A

Please fill out Form 100A to request a report.  

Back to top


Arson & Explosives Bureau Personnel Contact Information 

Special Agent in Charge Ron Humphrey,

Supervisor of the Arson and Explosives Bureau/Bomb Squad Commander 

SAC Humphrey can be reached at

Zone 1 Special Agents Dave Linkletter and Curt Seddon 

Zone 1 includes the following counties:  Adair, Appanoose, Boone, Clarke, Dallas, Decatur, Greene, Guthrie, Hamilton, Jasper, Lucas, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Polk, Ringgold, Story, Union, Warren, Wayne, and Webster. 

SA Linkletter can be reached at


SA Seddon can be reached at

Zone 2 Special Agents Andrew Giere, Wayne Brosam, and Josh Lahr

Zone 2 includes the following counties:  Adams, Audubon, Buena Vista, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Emmet, Fremont, Harrison, Ida, Lyon, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O’Brien, Osceola, Page, Taylor, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Sioux, and Woodbury. 

SA Giere can be reached at


SA Brosam can be reached at


SA Lahr can be reached at

Zone 3 Special Agents Ross Dillavou and Robert Sankey

Zone 3 includes the following counties:  Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Grundy, Hancock, Hardin, Howard, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright. 

SA Dillavou can be reached at


SA Sankey can be reached at

Zone 4 Special Agents Lucas Ossman, Luke Taeger, and Justin Wade

Zone 4 includes the following counties: Benton, Cedar, Clinton, Davis, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Mahaska, Muscatine, Scott, Tama, Van Buren, Wapello, and Washington. 

SA Ossman can be reached at


SA Taeger can be reached at


SA Wade can be reached at


Back to top