The Peace Officers' Retirement, Accident, and Disability System is a traditional “defined benefit” pension plan for Iowa DPS law enforcement officers. Peace officers in the Divisions of the Iowa State Patrol, Criminal Investigation, Narcotics Enforcement, Capitol Police, and State Fire Marshal are members of the System except as provided in Section 97A.3, Code of Iowa. Members of the System cease to be a member of the System when in any period of five (5) consecutive years, the member is absent from service for more than four (4) years, or should a member become a beneficiary, or die.

The Board of Trustees is created by Section 97A.5(1) and is constituted as follows: 

The Commissioner of Public Safety, who is chairperson of the board, the Treasurer of State, an actively engaged member of the System selected by secret ballot by the active members of the System for a term of two (2) years, a retired member of the system selected by secret ballot by the retired members of the system for a term of two (2) years and a civilian appointed by the Governor for a term of two (2) years.