Officers' Actions Ruled Justified In Jones County Shooting

Richard Rahn
Special Agent in Charge

October 7, 2020

ANAMOSA, Iowa - This is not a press release from the Iowa Department of Public Safety. It is being distributed on behalf of the Jones County Attorney's Office as the result of the Division of Criminal Investigation's assistance in this investigation. This press release is a 10-page downloadable document at the link below: 

Full Jones County Press Release - Officer-Involved Shooting - October 7, 2020

Link to Jones County press release



The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.