Update: Arrest In Palo Alto County Drowning At Virgin Lake

Darrell Simmons
Special Agent in Charge

August 15, 2020

DES MOINES, Iowa - This is not a press release from the Iowa Department of Public Safety. It is being distributed on behalf of the Palo Alto County Sheriff's Office as the result of the Division of Criminal Investigation's assistance in this investigation.

Previous Palo Alto County Sheriff's Office Press Release - August 1, 2020

Link to Palo Alto press release - August 15, 2020



The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.