District 6 is headquartered in Cherokee. It opened in 1937 and consisted of two satellite offices - the first in Sheldon and the second in Spencer. It wasn’t until 1946 that the present-day District 6 was introduced. The first office location was at the City Hall building in downtown Spencer. Sergeant Lyle Dawson was the district commander, overseeing 52 road troopers. Between 1951 and 1976, District 6 saw four separate relocations, including a renovated Spencer City Hall and the Pixler Electric building.

In 1976, the current District 6 was opened at the intersection of Highway 18 and Highway 71 north. This location provides easy access to all areas of the district, especially the lakes region. The new office was large enough to house offices for the Division of Criminal investigation (DCI), Narcotics Enforcement (DNE), Fire Marshal’s Office (SFM), and an indoor shooting range.

District 6 is known for the Iowa Great Lakes region including Spirit Lake and Okoboji Lakes which attract many summer residents and visitors. The Clay County Fair was known at one time as the world’s largest county fair. 

Troopers have responded to numerous incidents and assignments outside their normal patrol duties as well.  Most notably, the crash of Flight 232, Cedar Rapids flooding of 2009, R.A.G.B.R.A.I., American Legion Boys State, the Farm Progress Show, and the Iowa State Fair.

District 6 previously covered eight counties in northwest Iowa, including  Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, Osceola, O’Brien, Palo Alto and Sioux.  In March 2010, District 5 in Cherokee was closed and combined between Districts 4 and 6.  Buena Vista, Cherokee and Plymouth counties were added to District 6.

District 6 currently serves the counties of: Buena Vista, Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, Osceola, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Plymouth, and Sioux.

Iowa State Patrol District #6
503 W 44th St
Spencer IA 51301