District 9 was originally the west part of District 7, which also included all of the counties currently in District 10.  The office was located in the Cedar Falls Chamber of Commerce building.  In 1946, reorganization occurred and Districts 7 and 9 were formed as they are today.  A Sergeant was responsible for District 9 from 1946 through 1957 when a Lieutenant was then named the commander.

District 9 is responsible for patrol duties in Black Hawk, Bremer, Butler, Franklin, Grundy and Hardin counties. 

In 1946, the office was relocated to its current location, which already housed the Department of Public Safety Communications.  Construction started in 1977 and the new office of District 9 opened in February 1978.  At that time, District 9 also housed Cedar Falls State Radio and the Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI).  District 9 had one lieutenant, three sergeants, and 24 troopers.

District 9 Troopers continue to participate in dignitary protection, Iowa and Iowa State football games, the State Fair, Farm Progress Show, and R.A.G.B.R.A.I.

Cedar Falls is the home of the University of Northern Iowa.  The only covered stadium in Iowa, the UNI Dome, brings thousands of people to the area for various events.

On May 28, 2008, an EF5 tornado struck the Parkersburg area.  Eight people lost their lives in the tornado.  The State Patrol was on site 24-hours a day for 12 days.  Five days after leaving Parkersburg, historic flooding occurred.  The Cedar River flooded which closed and re-routed Highway 218.  District 9 troopers played a major role in closing and detouring Highway 218 for several days.  Cedar Rapids was greatly affected by the flood and District 9 sent troopers to assist.  

There are several major four lane roads going through District 9 including Interstates 35 and 380, the “Avenue of the Saints” which is Highway 218, and Highways 20 and 63.  Currently, District 9 supports Iowa State Patrol personnel, Cedar Falls Communications, Division of Narcotics Enforcement (DNE), and the Fire Marshal’s Office (SFM).

Iowa State Patrol District #9
1510 W 1st St
Cedar Falls IA 50613