DCI Investigates Shooting Involving 4th Judicial District Officers and Parole Violators

Darrell Simmons
Special Agent In Charge

August 21, 2021                        

COUNCIL BLUFFS, Iowa - On Friday, August 20, officers with the Iowa Department of Corrections' 4th Judicial District's High-Risk Unit were searching for Kelsey Hanna and Brandon Hines pursuant to parole warrants. 

Shortly after 1:00 p.m., officers with the High-Risk Unit observed Hines and Hanna leaving a house and entering a black Ford SUV near 27th Street and Avenue G in Council Bluffs. The officers attempted to stop Hines and Hanna from leaving the area. 

As the officers with the High-Risk Unit approached the black SUV, the driver (Hines) put the car in reverse and backed into a secondary officer’s vehicle. Hines then put the black SUV in drive and drove towards and struck one of the officers. One officer fired his service weapon striking Hines.

Hines fled, but was apprehended a short time later by the Nebraska State Patrol in Omaha. Hines was transported to the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) where he is being treated for non-life threatening injuries. Hanna was arrested without incident.

This is an active and on-going criminal investigation by the Council Bluffs Police Department and the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation.

Per 4th Judicial District policy, the officer involved in the shooting has been placed on administrative leave.


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.