Law Enforcement Officers Assaulted In State Capitol Protest

Sergeant Paul Parizek
Public Information Officer, Des Moines Police Department

July 1, 2020

DES MOINES, Iowa - This is not a press release from the Iowa Department of Public Safety. It is being distributed on behalf of the Des Moines Police Department. The Iowa State Patrol provided assistance to local authorities.

Des Moines Police Department Press Release - July 1, 2020

Page 1 - Link to PDF press release from the Des Moines Police Department.

Page 2 - Link to PDF press release from the Des Moines Police Department.


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.