September 9, 2020

CORALVILLE, Iowa - The police officer involved in the September 3, 2020, shooting has been identified as Joshua Van Brocklin, a 14-year veteran with the Coralville Police Department. Van Brocklin voluntarily interviewed with the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation. Upon completion of the investigation, Van Brocklin’s interview, along with the investigative facts, will be forwarded to the Johnson County Attorney’s office for review. The medical status of the subject, Joseph George Maser, 47, of Coralville, Iowa, will not be released at this time. 

Previous Coralville Police Department Press Release - September 4, 2020

Previous Coralville Police Department Press Release - September 3, 2020


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319