September 15, 2020

EAGLE GROVE, Iowa - On September 15, 2020, at about 2:00 p.m., the Wright County Sheriff’s Office conducted a traffic stop on Hwy. 17 at 10th St NW in Eagle Grove, Iowa.  A deputy believed the vehicle was the suspect vehicle from a disturbance in Goldfield, Iowa, that the deputy was responding to.  
The deputy identified the driver as Sean McMillan, 31, of Fort Dodge, Iowa.  The deputy determined McMillan was driving while barred, was in possession of a handgun as a felon, and was a suspect in the disturbance call.  McMillan was placed under arrest, handcuffed, and placed in the front seat of the squad car.  While the deputy was dealing with the passenger in the suspect vehicle, McMillan jumped the console of the squad car, drove at and hit the deputy. The officer fired one round at McMillan.  
McMillan abandoned the deputy's vehicle a short distance later and fled on foot.  McMillan was later arrested at 309 S. Cadwell in Eagle Grove, Iowa, without incident.  
The deputy was transported to the hospital where he was treated and released. 
The Wright County Sheriff’s Office was assisted by the Eagle Grove Police Department, the Iowa State Patrol, and the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation. 


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319