September 18, 2020

CENTERVILLE, Iowa - On the evening of September 17, 2020, law enforcement officers in Marion County, Monroe County, and Appanoose County attempted to stop a Ford F-150 for multiple traffic violation and suspicion of operating while intoxicated. A pursuit ensued. The F-150 traveled in excess of 80 mph at points of the pursuit, using both lanes of the rural two lane road.        

At 10:11 p.m., at the intersection of Highway 5 and J-18 in Appanoose County, Deputy Sheriff Jordan Harvey, a three-and-a-half year member of the Appanoose County Sheriff’s Office, attempted to deploy stop-sticks in an effort to disable the truck and end the pursuit. The driver of the F-150, identified as 44-year old Scott Ammon of Albia, eluded the stop-sticks by leaving the roadway and driving into a farm field. Ammon then directed the vehicle towards Deputy Harvey, who discharged his service weapon twice, striking the lower portion of the F-150.
After Deputy Harvey discharged his weapon, the F-150 continued into a parking lot, where it struck the Lighthouse Church before returning to the road and, ultimately stuck a utility pole; disabling the vehicle. 
Ammon, who was not injured in the incident, was taken into custody without further incident and transported to the Monroe County Jail, where he remains.
Per departmental policy, Deputy Harvey, who was not injured, has been placed on paid administrative leave.

As result of the shooting, Appanoose County Sheriff Gary Anderson requested the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation conduct an independent investigation into the incident. 

The DCI, with the assistance of the Iowa State Patrol, continue to work the investigation.

The findings of the investigation will be forwarded to the Appanoose County Attorney’s Office for review and determination.

No additional information will be released, prior to a determination by the Appanoose County Attorney.

Previous Appanoose County Press Release - September 18, 2020


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319