April 16, 2021

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa - Today, the Iowa State Patrol laid to rest a hero in Sergeant Jim Smith, who courageously served the State of Iowa for 27 years. He made the ultimate sacrifice attempting to arrest a barricaded subject in Grundy Center on Friday, April 9, 2021.

“The Iowa State Patrol is honored and blessed to have served this great state with Sergeant Smith,” said Iowa State Patrol Colonel Nathan Fulk. “As our brother, he was strong in his faith, dedicated to his family and committed to public service and his community. He loved protecting the people of Iowa, and he performed his job with a passion and compassion that touched countless lives. This tremendous loss has impacted everyone in the Iowa State Patrol and the Department of Public Safety family. We want to thank his community of Independence, the unified law enforcement community, Iowa COPS, first responders and citizens nationwide for the outpouring of support. Though his watch has ended, we will never forget Sergeant Jim Smith’s service.”

Sergeant Smith began his career as a member of the Department of Public Safety’s 19th Basic Academy in 1993. Upon graduation, he was first stationed in Fairfield at District 13, and in 1996 relocated to District 10 located in Oelwein. Trooper Jim Smith was proud and humbled by his position as an Iowa State Trooper. He consistently performed his duties everyday with the motoring public safely, which was his number one priority. He performed his duties with the “I can make a difference" law enforcement mindset. He took on the role of leader with the Area C Tactical Team, devoting time on and off duty, to complete the tactical team mission. 


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319