May 3, 2021

DES MOINES, Iowa - This Friday, May 7, 2021, Governor Kim Reynolds, Lt. Governor Adam Gregg, along with State of Iowa leadership, law enforcement partners and families will honor and pay tribute to fallen peace officers who gave the ultimate sacrifice while serving. On this Peace Officer Memorial Day, we stand steadfast in remembering the brave men and women of law enforcement who died in the line of duty protecting Iowans and their communities.

This year, two officers will be honored and added to the Iowa Peace Officer Memorial. Please join us to honor these fallen peace officers, as well as the many other Iowa officers who have given their lives in the line of duty over the last 152 years.

EVENT: 2021 Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony 

DATE: Friday, May 7, 2021

TIME: 10:00 a.m.

LOCATION: Grounds East of Oran Pape State Office Building, 215 East 7th Street, Des Moines (Rain Location: State Capitol - 1st Floor Rotunda)



  • Deputy Stephanie J. Schreurs, Lyon County Sheriff's Office, E.O.W. August 13, 2019
  • Special Officer John H. Bousman, Chicago and North Western Railway, E.O.W. August 10, 1922


The Honorable Kim Reynolds
The Honorable Adam Gregg
Stephan Bayens, Department of Public Safety Commissioner

If you are unable to attend this year's ceremony, we remind you it can be accessed on our DPS Facebook Page. There are many ways you can observe National Police Week, May 9-15, 2021.  Please take time and thank current peace officers for protecting and serving your community and the great State of Iowa.

PHOTO: 2019 Peace Officer Memorial Ceremony

Photo of ceremony featuring monument, Governor Kim Reynolds, Lt. Governor Gregg, DPS Commissioner Bayens and guests


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319