July 30, 2021

DES MOINES, Iowa - The Iowa State Patrol is looking for a repeat performance or better in the 8th annual American Association of State Troopers Best-Looking Cruiser contest. The public is encouraged to cast their vote for the Iowa State Patrol cruiser though this Tuesday, August 3. The top 12 states receiving votes in the contest will have their photo included in the 2022 AAST Cruiser Calendar. 

Proceeds of calendar sales will benefit the American Association of State Troopers Foundation, which provides educational scholarships to dependents of member troopers.

The AAST calendar contest rewards creative and impactful photo submissions in an effort to help promote the lives and work of State Troopers across the country. This year, renowned Des Moines-based photographer Mirza Kudic photographed an Iowa State Patrol Dodge squad car traveling along Grand Avenue in Des Moines.

CAST YOUR VOTES TODAY: One vote may be cast from each electronic device. Votes are being collected through Tuesday, August 3, at Noon (12:00 p.m. EST) through this free Survey Monkey link: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/bestlookingcrusier2021

In last year's latest standings, the Iowa State Patrol cruiser photo finished in the 10th place spot, appearing in the calendar for the first time. Currently, the Patrol sits at 22nd place with 3,722 votes, and needs at least to surpass 9,300 votes to earn a spot in next year's calendar. 

Let's Go Iowa!

Link to calendar screenshot

Link to 7-30 standings


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319