April 4, 2022

DES MOINES, Iowa – The Iowa Department of Public Safety is proud to announce the graduation of the 46th Basic Academy on Friday, April 1, 2022, at Stony Creek Hotel Northwoods Conference Center in Johnston, Iowa . The ceremony recognized a graduating class of 18 recruits who previously served as certified officers in law enforcement agencies across Iowa before entering the Academy on January 24, 2022. Lieutenant Matthew Struecker served as Camp Commander.

Conducted at Camp Dodge, the 10-week Academy training focused on completing law enforcement coursework on laws of arrest, search and seizure, defensive tactics, arrest techniques, precision driving, firearms, emergency management services, fair and impartial policing, criminal law, accident investigation, human relations, physical fitness, human trafficking, motor vehicle law, domestic violence, crisis intervention for mentally ill and several other courses in law enforcement. 

The 46th Basic Academy graduates are assigned the following badge numbers, and will serve Iowans in the following areas: 

Jonathan Brokens #292                 Iowa State Patrol District 10
Taylor Buhmeyer #294                   Iowa State Patrol District 11
Alexander Dodd #297                    Iowa State Patrol District 12
Dustin Gelner #105                        Iowa State Patrol District   3
Kory Griffin #302                            Iowa State Patrol District 12
Blake Lefler #288                           Iowa State Patrol District   2
Benjamin McCready #314              Iowa State Patrol District 10
Marissa Mussmann #290               Iowa State Patrol District 12 
Daniel Ramiro #332                       Iowa State Patrol District 13
Thomas Runge #352                     Iowa State Patrol District 12
Matthew Schmelzer #327              Iowa State Patrol District 10
Zachary Scott #343                       Iowa State Patrol District   8
Tyler Shiels #300                           Iowa State Patrol District   3
Stephanie Smith #320                   Iowa State Patrol District   1
Michael Stegall #374                     Iowa State Patrol District 12
Daniel Sutfin #340                         Iowa State Patrol District 11
Evan Thompson I-134                   Division of Criminal Investigation-Major Crime Unit Zone 3
David Wall #353                            Iowa State Patrol District 13

Recruits who received special recognition for their performance include: 

β€’    Lance Dietsch-Stanley Gerling Valedictorian Award: Michael Stegall
β€’    Top Gun Award: Taylor Buhmeyer
β€’    Sergeant Jim Smith Meritorious Peer Leadership Award: Benjamin McCready
β€’    Distinguished Graduate Award: Thomas Runge
β€’    Earnest Baty, Jr. Physical Fitness Award: Daniel Sutfin, Evan Thompson

β€œWe are extremely proud of these graduates and grateful to them for choosing to answer the call with the State of Iowa,” said Stephan K. Bayens, Commissioner of the Iowa Department of Public Safety. β€œAt this point in history, I believe it is the most important time to be a law enforcement officer. There’s divisiveness, brokenness, and crime is on the rise. I cannot think of a more significant time for men and women to step up and bridge that gap, and I thank them for it,” Bayens added.

To view the livestream of the 46th Basic Academy ceremony, click here to visit the Iowa State Patrol Facebook page for Friday, April 1, 2022.
To view photos from the event, click here to visit the 46th Basic Academy Photo Album.

The recruiting period for the DPS 47th Basic Academy was held from January 10 to February 27, 2022. The 10-step selection process is currently in the physical fitness assessment and polygraph stages. Orientation for the selected recruits who receive a final offer will begin on Friday, July 8, and recruits will report for a 20-week Academy on Monday, July 11. Graduation is scheduled for December 2, 2022. For more information about DPS law enforcement careers and the 10-Step Process, visit DPSCAREERS.COM.


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319