November 5, 2022

Davenport, Iowa -  The names of the Officers/Troopers involved in the October 30, 2022 Officer Involved Shooting are being released.  All six (6) have cooperated and have been interviewed by the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation. (DCI).  They are as follows:

•    Trooper Kenneth Voorhees-Iowa State Patrol                    Six years, six months of law                                     enforcement experience.

•    Trooper Dwight Swartz-Iowa State Patrol                       Five years, six months of law                                     enforcement experience. 

•    Officer Brandon Askew-Davenport Police Department      Ten years of law enforcement                                     experience.

•    Officer Mason Pauley-Davenport Police Department        One year, eleven months of                                     law enforcement experience.
•    Officer Benjamin Betsworth-Davenport Police Department    One year, two months of law                                     enforcement experience.

•    Officer Zachary Thomas-Bettendorf Police Department    Thirteen years, one month of                                     law enforcement experience.

All six remain on leave pending the outcome of the investigation.  Once the investigation is complete, the findings will be forward to the Scott County Attorney’s Office and the Iowa Attorney General’s Office for review.  

No additional information will be released at this time. 

Subject’s Name in Davenport OIS Released

Davenport, IOWA:   The individual involved in the October 30, 2022 shooting has been identified as:  Davenport resident Kenneth Jamel Carrol, (24).  An autopsy will take place at the Office of the Iowa State Medical Examiner.  

Two (2) Iowa State Troopers, three (3) Davenport Police Officers and one (1) Bettendorf Police Officer discharged their weapons during the encounter with Carrol.  All six (6) have been placed on Critical Incident Leave while the incident is being investigated.  No law enforcement personnel were injured during this encounter.  Per protocol, their names will not be released prior to being interviewed by the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation.

No further information will be released at this time.   

OIS Press Release

On Sunday, October 30, 2022, at 2:50 am, multiple agencies were patrolling in the area of 5200 Grand Avenue. Officers initiated a traffic stop, but the driver failed to stop. A pursuit was initiated and ended after the vehicle became inoperable in the area of Kimberly Road and Elmore Avenue. 

The occupants of the vehicle fled on foot. During the foot pursuit Officers exchanged gun fire with an occupant and as a result the occupant was pronounced deceased at the scene. 

Multiple Officers from several departments were involved. The Officer involved shooting is being investigated by the Division of Criminal Investigations (DCI). 

Inquires please direct to Special Agent in Charge Richard Rahn at 536-370-5109. More information will be released when available. 


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319