November 7, 2022

THURMAN, Iowa – State, local, and federal law enforcement officials are continuing their efforts to corroborate the report of multiple historic homicides in rural Freemont County, Iowa.  No additional information is currently available.

Law enforcement will keep the public apprised of any significant developments.  The Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI) will serve as the primary point of contact for all additional media inquiries.

The Iowa DCI is working in conjunction with the Fremont County Sheriff’s Office and federal authorities.


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319

Public Information Officers (PIO)

Mitch Mortvedt, Director, PDSS

Iowa Division of Professional Development & Support Services
Oran Pape State Office Building

215 E 7th St
Des Moines, IA 50319


Director of the Division of Professional Development & Support Services.