PERRY, Iowa – An initial statement will be made at 10 a.m. to give preliminary information on the school shooting at Perry High School and Middle School that occurred the morning of January 4, 2024.  The Division of Criminal Investigation will conduct the press conference alongside the Dallas County Sheriff’s Office and the Perry Police Department. Press should stage at the intersection of 17th Street and Lucinda Street in Perry. 

A press conference will be held later this afternoon when more information is available. 


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319

Public Information Officers (PIO)

Mitch Mortvedt, Director, PDSS

Iowa Division of Professional Development & Support Services
Oran Pape State Office Building

215 E 7th St
Des Moines, IA 50319


Director of the Division of Professional Development & Support Services.