March 29, 2024

DES MOINES, Iowa - The Iowa Department of Public Safety is proud to announce the graduation of the 50th Certified Academy on Friday, March 29, 2024, at the Holiday Inn Airport Conference Center in Des Moines. The ceremony recognized a graduating class of 11 recruits who previously served as certified officers in law enforcement agencies across Iowa before entering the Academy on January 22, 2024. Lieutenant Matthew Struecker served as Camp Commander.

Conducted at Camp Dodge, the ten-week Academy training focused on completing law enforcement coursework on laws of arrest, search and seizure, defensive tactics, arrest techniques, precision driving, firearms, emergency management services, fair and impartial policing, criminal law, accident investigation, human relations, physical fitness, human trafficking, motor vehicle law, domestic violence, crisis intervention for mentally ill persons and several other courses in law enforcement. 

The 50th Certified Academy graduates are assigned the following badge numbers and will serve Iowans in these districts: 

Matthew Butcher #413 – District 1, Dallas County
Jared Coyle #417 – District 10, Delaware County
Riley Doeppke #276 - District 10, Clayton County
Darin Hofer #346 – District 3, Fremont County
Jake Hudson #368 – District 10, Dubuque County
Ian Jargo #215 – District 11, Linn County
Nathan Nemmers #447 – District 1, Polk County
Jason Schamberger #448 – District 11, Linn County
Kyle Slifka #486 – District 1, Dallas County
Benjamin Smith #273 – District 11, Poweshiek County
Mitchell Van Beek #494 – District 6, Lyon County

Recruits who received special recognition for their performance include: 

Nathan Nemmers – Valedictorian

Benjamin Smith – Distinguished Graduate  

Jared Coyle – Meritorious Peer 

Darin Hofer – Top Gun Award

Earnest Baty Jr. Physical Fitness Award Winners: 

Jake Hudson

Jared Coyle

Mitchell Van Beek 

Matthew Butcher 

β€œWe are extremely proud of these graduates and grateful to them for choosing to answer the call with the State of Iowa,” said Stephan K. Bayens, Commissioner of the Iowa Department of Public Safety. β€œAt this point in history, I believe it is the most important time to be a law enforcement officer. There’s divisiveness, brokenness, and crime is on the rise. I cannot think of a more significant time for men and women to step up and bridge that gap, and I thank them for it,” Bayens added.

For more information about DPS law enforcement careers and the 10-Step Process, visit DPSCAREERS.COM.


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes seven divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state, and federal government agencies and the private sector to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service, and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, Professional Development and Support Services Division, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety

215 E. 7th St.

Des Moines, IA 50319