April 12, 2024

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - The Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation has interviewed the officers involved in the April 6, 2024 shooting incident involving David Vanderhamm. 

All three officers are members of the Cedar Rapids Police Department and have been identified as: 

Sergeant Alex Haas (ten year veteran)

Officer Emily Habeck (eight year veteran)

Officer Skylar Mullins (four year veteran).  

All three officers are cooperating with the investigation. No other information will be released at this time.  


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes seven divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state, and federal government agencies and the private sector to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service, and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, Professional Development and Support Services Division, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety

215 E. 7th St.

Des Moines, IA 50319


Public Information Officers (PIO)

Mitch Mortvedt, Director, PDSS

Iowa Division of Professional Development & Support Services
Oran Pape State Office Building

215 E 7th St
Des Moines, IA 50319


Director of the Division of Professional Development & Support Services.