June 17, 2024

WRIGHT COUNTY, Iowa - At approximately 9:00 a.m. on June 17, 2024, the Wright County Sheriff’s Office received a report of a possible deceased person located at a rural Clarion residence. Upon arrival, deputies located the bodies of a deceased male and female inside a residence. After further investigation, the incident is believed to be isolated and there is no threat to the public at this time. 

The Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation was called to assist. An autopsy will be performed by the Iowa Office of the State Medical Examiner. 

This is an ongoing investigation. No additional information will be released at this time.


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes seven divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state, and federal government agencies and the private sector to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service, and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, Professional Development and Support Services Division, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety

215 E. 7th St.

Des Moines, IA 50319