July 9, 2024

DES MOINES, Iowa - The School Safety Task Force will meet on Thursday, July 11, 2024, from 10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. at the Oran Pape State Office Building. Address is 215 East 7th Street, Des Moines, Iowa, 50319. 


I.            Welcome remarks by DPS Commissioner Stephan Bayens

II.           Presentation on current building codes

     a.       Q&A

III.          Group discussion on current practices 

IV.           Recommendations for further review/study/future presentations 

V.            Other items and public comment

VI.          Adjourn 

For those who wish to submit public comment, please send an email to Matt Anderson at mranders@dps.state.ia.us expressing your interest by 9:00 am on the day of the meeting. Each individual expressing interest in participating will be called upon to speak during the public comment portion of the meeting. You may also submit your comments in writing to mranders@dps.state.ia.us.


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes seven divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state, and federal government agencies and the private sector to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service, and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, Professional Development and Support Services Division, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety

215 E. 7th St.

Des Moines, IA 50319