Update: Ottumwa's Showalter's Remains Found

Lieutenant Jason Bell
Ottumwa Police Department

August 1, 2021

OTTUMWA, Iowa - This is not a press release from the Iowa Department of Public Safety. It is being distributed on behalf of the Division on Criminal Investigation as a result of its assistance with this investigation.

Link to Showalter update 1

Link to Showalter update 2

Link to Showalter photo


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.