DCI Investigates Shooting Death of Wapello County Home Intruder

Donald Phillips
Wapello County Sheriff's Office

February 19, 2021

OTTUMWA, Iowa - This is not a press release from the Iowa Department of Public Safety. It is being distributed on behalf of the Wapello County Sheriff's Office as a result of the Division of Criminal Investigation's assistance to local authorities in this case.


Link to Wapello press release


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.