August 23, 2021

COUNCIL BLUFFS, Iowa - The 4th Judicial District Correctional Officer who was involved in a shooting with parole violators Brandon Hines and Kelsey Hanna in Council Bluffs on Friday, August 20, 2021, is identified as Officer Mike Brown. Officer Brown is on paid administrative leave pending the completion of the investigation. Officer Brown had eight years of prior law enforcement experience before joining the Department of Correction in July 2021. Officer Brown was released from the hospital on Friday evening and is recovering at home from his injuries.

This is an on-going criminal investigation by the Council Bluffs Police Department and the Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation (DCI). Once the DCI completes its investigation, a report will be submitted to the Pottawattamie County Attorney’s Office for review.

Brandon Hines has been released from the hospital and taken into custody by Nebraska authorities on a parole violation warrant issued by the State of Nebraska. Hines will be extradited to Iowa at a later date to face the following criminal charges in Iowa.

  • Assault on a Police Officer with a dangerous weapon  (Class D Felony)
  • Assault on a Police Officer while attempting to inflict serious injury (Class D Felony)
  • Theft 2nd Degree (Class D Felony)

Note: A criminal charge is merely an accusation and the defendant is presumed innocent until proven guilty.  

Previous Press Release - August 21, 2021


The Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is the largest law enforcement agency in the state. It includes six divisions and several bureaus, all working together with local, state and federal government agencies and the private sector, to keep Iowa a safe place by following our core values: leadership, integrity, professionalism, courtesy, service and protection. Divisions within the Iowa DPS: Iowa Division of Criminal Investigation, Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Iowa State Patrol, Iowa State Fire Marshal Division, Iowa Division of Intelligence and Fusion Center, and Administrative Services Division. The Department of Public Safety is led by the Commissioner who is appointed by the Governor.

Iowa Department of Public Safety
215 E 7th St
Des Moines IA 50319